The Board of Education of Anne Arundel County tonight unanimously approved a one-year agreement with the Teachers Association of Anne Arundel County (TAAAC) that provides a step increase for all eligible teachers, school counselors, and other TAAAC members across the school system, and a one-time payment to the most experienced TAAAC members who are not eligible for step increases.

The agreement, which expires on June 30, 2017, was approved by TAAAC members on September 7.

“Our teachers and other TAAAC members do incredible work for our students, and the Board is pleased to have this agreement in place so that we can fully turn our attention to what promises to be an exciting and successful school year,” Board President Stacy Korbelak said.

The step increases, which do not apply to teachers hired this school year, are retroactive to July 1, 2016. However, to fund a one-time payment of $926.31 to eligible members who are already on the top step of the salary scale, TAAAC members agreed to delay the start of their step increases by one pay period.

The Board approved an agreement with the American Federation of State, County, and Municipal Employees Local 1693, whose membership includes facilities and maintenance personnel, in June. It is at impasse with its other two bargaining units: the Association of Educational Leaders, which is comprised of principals and assistant principals; and the Secretaries and Administrative Assistants Association of Anne Arundel County.