BOARD OF EDUCATION OF ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY POLICY COMMITTEE MEETING ADMINISTRATIVE MINUTES APRIL 2, 2024 (APPROVED)

The Board of Education Policy Committee met at 3:00 p.m. on the above date virtually. Board members present were Melissa Ellis, Joanna Tobin, Dana Schallheim, and Eric Lin. Staff members present were Grace Wilson, Legislative and Policy Specialist; Maggie Gosewisch, Specialist Support: Legislation & Policy; Bob Mosier, Chief Communications Officer; Dan Reagan, Director of Internal Audits; Darren Burns, Board Legal Counsel; and Diane Howell, Executive Assistant to the Board. Laticia Hicks was present on behalf of the CAC.

<u>Review and Approval of Minutes:</u> Mrs. Ellis opened the meeting with the approval of the minutes from the March 5, 2024, Committee meeting. The meeting minutes were approved by consensus.

Policy

EAA – Eligible Riders: Ms. Wilson explained that this policy and accompanying regulation were scheduled for review at the request of the Board. This is just one of 20 policies and regulations that govern the transportation of students. This policy defines which students, other than those with disabilities, are eligible for transportation by AACPS. It was last revised in March 2015, and the changes recommended are technical for style and formatting. The changes include: (1) the Issue statement has been updated to reflect that there is not a legal requirement for county boards of education to provide transportation to public school students, and (2) Position Statement 2 has been updated to delete outdated references and remove the reference to disable students as transportation for students with disabilities is addressed in Policy EAC and Regulation EAC-RA – Transportation of Students with Disabilities.

Dr. Tobin suggested that the Committee introduce more flexibility regarding how radii are determined in the policy to address equity issues and the particularities of different parts of the county, especially for Title I schools or Community Schools, where transportation may impact safety and attendance. Mrs. Schallheim proposed tying transportation to the designation of Community Schools, which are based on concentration of poverty grants. Mrs. Ellis expressed concern about the legality of Dr. Tobin's suggestion. Mr. Burns advised that he would need to do more research and consultation with staff and transportation experts. Mr. Mosier and Ms. Wilson pointed out some potential budgetary and logistical issues with changing the transportation for Community Schools, especially as the number of Community Schools changes across the county. Ms. Hicks asked about the transportation for magnet students, and Ms. Wilson clarified that they are covered by Policy IP and Regulation IP-RA – Magnet Programs.

The Committee decided not to move the policy forward at this time and to have further meetings and discussions on the topic. Ms. Wilson offered to organize a meeting with Dr. Tobin and other relevant parties.

FYI Only – Regulation

<u>EAA-RA – Eligible Riders:</u> This regulation was not discussed in detail during the meeting. The Committee decided to postpone the review of the regulation until further policy discussions occurred.

Good of the Order: None.

Adjourn: 3:38 PM