The Board of Education of Anne Arundel County today elected Terry Gilleland to serve as president and Student Member Josie Urrea to serve as vice president.  Gilleland will serve through December 4, 2019, and Urrea will serve until her one-year term on the Board ends on June 30, 2019.

The elections came about as the result of the Board’s revisions to Policy BBC, Board Organizational Meeting and Board Officers, at its January 23, 2019, meeting.

Gilleland has been a member of the Board since February 2016 and had served as the Board’s vice president since July 2017.

Gilleland also served as the Student Member on the Board during the 1994-1995 school year, when he was a senior at North County High School. A former state delegate, Gilleland has served on the Anne Arundel Workforce Development Corporation’s Board of Directors and holds active volunteer leadership roles with Future Business Leaders of America, HOPE For All, and Faith into Action.

Urrea has served as the Student Member on the Board since July 1. She is the first student member to serve as vice president of the Board.

Also serving on the Board are Candace C.W. Antwine of Jessup, Michelle Corkadel of Edgewater, Melissa Ellis of Millersville, Eric Grannon of Davidsonville, Julie Hummer of Laurel, Robert C. Leib of Harwood, and Dana Schallheim of Severna Park.